Q&A: Is this an online car scam? Read below?

by Axel Bührmann
Question by Rachel: Is this an online car scam? Read below?
Here is the conversation about possibly buying a car online, but it was listed on Chicago craiglist so I was planning on seeing it first. Thanks in advance
—————-
The car is located in Sharon, MA at the shipping company (i just moved here with my new job),like i told we will use eBay Vehicle Purchase Protection,so we can both be protected and insured.The price for the car is $ 2,800 with shipping included. I just need your full name and full address so eBay can send you the invoice in which you`ll see how to make this transaction.The shipping is free i will take care of it and i will send the car with
all the papers( vehicle registration, warranty papers,transfer papers etc ) i am just waiting your full name and address to complete the shipping papers and start the delivery process.
Regards,
Linda
On Mon, Jul 26, 2010 at 6:25 PM, wrote:
I’m sorry I need to see the vehicle first before buying it, my family will not buy the car without looking at it first.
Rachel
—–Original Message—–
From:
I have received your email regarding the 2003 Honda Accord EX with only 80,145 miles. The car is located in Sharon, MA at the shipping company. The car is in perfect condition,with no scratches on it,no damage, clear title. The engine is a 4 Cylinder 2.4 liter. The transmission is automatic. The price for the car is $ 2,800 with shipping included.The car was my husband`s as he loved it very much, but he did not enjoy it as he died in a IRAQ 3 month ago. It brings very bad memories to me, I want to get rid of it.The buyer will receive the car with all papers and receipts that he needs to register it to his name.Shipping will be done whit DAS and it will take no more then 2-3 days. I have a friend there who will manage me a low price shipping and I assumed that it is my duty to pay for shipping it.It will be delivered directly to your address.Anyway, I have to let you know that I want a fast deal so if you are really interested in buying it,please reply with the following information’s:
-Your full name;
-Your shipping address.(street,city,state,zip code)
The transaction will close only through eBay so we both will be protected.
I want eBay because as they are the biggest company on the internet I think that we can close this deal fast and safe for both of us. Also I am not very familiar with the internet transactions and eBay is the only one I know.I will look for your email,so that we can move forward with this deal!
Let me know.
P.S I attached you some pictures with the car,
http://s941.photobucket.com/albums/ad258/HondaAccordEX/
Regards
Linda
Best answer:
Answer by Mongolking
It may not be a scam but you should see it in person either way before oyu give someone any money.
Know better? Leave your own answer in the comments!
| Print article | This entry was posted by internet4u on December 1, 2010 at 4:43 am, and is filed under Domain Names. Follow any responses to this post through RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback from your own site. |

about 1 year ago
This is a scam you have to beware of people trying to sell you things by only contacting you through email and trying to have wire transactions for the money such as through eBay. He also doesn’t want to show you the car in person and wants to ship it to you. This is definitely a scam.
about 1 year ago
SCAM SCAM SCAM SCAM SCAM SCAM SCAM SCAM SCAM SCAM it says right on craigslist all offers to ship cars are 100 percent fraudulent, If her story was true she could go to a dealer and get more cash than that for the car NOW!!! SAVE YOUR MONEY its safer in your pocket
about 1 year ago
I would not touch this with a 10 foot pole.
This has scam written all over it.
Go see the car, then pay them with a certified cheque once you are sure all the paperwork is in order and you have had a chance to make sure the car is in good running order.
about 1 year ago
It’s a S C A M
‘nuf said.
about 1 year ago
Completely agree with Dick Car Guy. This is a SCAM!!
If you continue to respond asking to see vehicle or even arrange a time to see the vehicle, the “seller/scammer” will respond by stating that the vehicle is already in a warehouse ready to be shipped and the warehouse owners will not allow anyone to view the vehicle. The photobucket pictures are pictures of legitimate vehicles that were trolled from some other user. They will aso provide an actual VIN number if you request one. A quick CARFAX will show you that it is indeed a 2003 Honda Accord, because the “seller/scammer” has a corresponding VIN to draw you even more in.
STAY AWAY FROM THIS VEHICLE? Don’t even “f—” with them, just don’t respond anymore.
about 1 year ago
ebay is not connected to craigslist! this is a scam!
about 1 year ago
This is a complete SCAM
Why do so many peole skip right over the HUGE BOLD FACED WARNINGS right there on the top of the Cragislist automotive section.
OFFERS TO SHIP CARS ARE 100% FRAUDULENT
Plus eBay does not offer the type of services they mention. There is no protection program for used car sales offered by eBay.
about 1 year ago
Duh.
Not sure how you missed the big blue letters on craigslist that say “ALL OFFERS TO SHIP VEHICLES ARE 100% FRAUDULENT”
about 1 year ago
Now I know why these scammers continue.
So many people really don’t have an inkling of common sense.
PS, some free advice. When it rains, come inside, You wont get wet that way.